If you like Sherlock, you’ll love Ellie Marney’s Every Breath!

Hi everyone!

Sam the intern here. I took over the blog again so that I could talk to you about two of my current obsessions: BBC’s Sherlock and Ellie Marney’s Every series. Conveniently enough, they complement each other perfectly.

For those of you who haven’t heard of Sherlock, it’s a modern retelling of some of Holmes’ famous cases, set in contemporary London. It stars:

    • Benedict Cumberbatch as the famous detective;

    • Martin Freeman (aka Bilbo Baggins from The Hobbit!) as the faithful Dr. John Watson;

    • Mark Gatiss as Mycroft Holmes, Sherlock’s older brother;

    • Una Stubbs as Mrs. Hudson, the landlady;

    • and an excellent Andrew Scott as Sherlock’s arch-nemesis, Moriarty.

If you haven’t already watched it, I highly recommend you give it a chance.

Meanwhile, if you’re looking for a Sherlock Holmes-esque book, then look no further than Every Breath, the first book in Ellie Marney’s Every series.

Every BreathWhen James Mycroft drags Rachel Watts off on a night mission to the Melbourne Zoo, the last thing she expects to find is the mutilated body of Homeless Dave, one of Mycroft’s numerous eccentric friends. But Mycroft’s passion for forensics leads him to realize that something about the scene isn’t right–and he wants Watts to help him investigate the murder.

While Watts battles her attraction to bad-boy Mycroft, he’s busy getting himself expelled and clashing with the police, becoming murder suspect number one. When Watts and Mycroft unknowingly reveal too much to the cold-blooded killer, they find themselves in the lion’s den–literally. A trip to the zoo will never have quite the same meaning to Rachel Watts again…

I picked this book up shortly after finishing the last episode of Sherlock, in an effort to tide me over until the next season (in 2016!). I finished it in a day. I was so hooked, I barely moved during the last quarter.

Like Sherlock, Marney’s novel is fast-paced and wonderfully detailed. The main mystery surrounding Homeless Dave is neatly wrapped up with no loose ends or random plot points thrown in at the last second. But there’s still enough of a mystery surrounding Mycroft himself that makes you – liEvery Wordke Rachel – want to know more.

Also like Sherlock, the characters are so well rounded, you almost believe they’re real (I, for one, wish I knew Mycroft in real life). You get into their heads and slowly start to see what makes them tick and that journey is almost as fascinating as the mystery itself. Plus, the chemistry between Mycroft and Watts – aka”Wattscroft” – is palpable.

Trust me when I say their relationship gets even more explosive in the sequel, Every Word (out September 2015) and I can’t wait to find out what happens to them next! If you’re going to BEA this year, make sure you pick up an ARC – this is a series you don’t want to miss!

#Wattscroft forever!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “If you like Sherlock, you’ll love Ellie Marney’s Every Breath!

  1. I loved Every Breath….although it took a little bit to adjust to some of the Aussie language (but I love that it has that!). I can’t wait until the next two books are available here. I’m considering having a friend in Australia send them to me just so I can read them sooner! Definitely worth reading 🙂

  2. Eek! I adore your love for both Sherlock and #Wattscroft! I did a similar post to this recently, too, after reading Every Breath and catching up on Sherlock. Great minds think alike! 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s