Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Pride Reads 2019

Pride month might be almost over but that doesn’t mean you have to stop celebrating! We’ve made a list of some of our recent titles featuring LGBTQ+ characters – check them out below and let us know which ones you’ve read!

BONUS: We put together a #pridemonth playlist for your listening pleasure – we recommend putting it on shuffle and reading (or, let’s be real, dancing) the night away.

Advertisements

Get #Ready2Camp

As lifestyles becomes increasingly urban and suburban, many are seeking a break from concrete and screen time by exploring the great outdoors. From a simple walk, to hiking,  or camping, it’s never been a better time to escape the urban jungle and feel the grass beneath your feet! What better way to prepare the concept of camping to little ones than a read aloud before you go?

The Not-So Great OutdoorsThe Not-So Great Outdoors
By Madeline Kloepper
40 Page | Ages 3-7 | Tundra Books
ISBN 9780735264175
What’s so great about the “great outdoors”? A grumpy urban kid begrudgingly accompanies her family on a summer camping trip, missing all the sublime sights right under her nose as she longs for the lights and stimulation of the city. But as she explores forests, lakes and mountains, and encounters bears, beavers and caribou, she slowly comes to realize that the simpler things are just as sparkly, that the sky is its own majestic light show, and the symphony is all around. The Not-So Great Outdoors is a humorous and richly imagined reminder of the beauty and magic that can be found away from the city and our screens.

Now Not YetNow? Not Yet!
By Gina Perry
32 Page | Ages 3-7 | Tundra Books
ISBN 9781101919521
Peanut and Moe are back, this time on a camping trip. Peanut wants to swim NOW, Moe says NOT YET! A sweet and cheerful book about overcoming differences.

Peanut says let’s swim
Moe says time to hike
Peanut says let’s swim now
Moe says time to eat a snack
Peanut says now!
Moe says time to put up the tent
Peanut says NOW!
Moe says NOT YET!

Can these two friends come together in time to save their camping trip?

Are you looking for more books about nature? We also recommend these:

Red Sky at NightRed Sky at Night
By Elly Mackay
40 Page | Ages 3-7 | Tundra Books
ISBN 9781101917831
Red sky at night, sailor’s delight. And, the next morning, when the dew is on the grass, no rain will come to pass. These are the perfect conditions for a grandfather to take his grandchildren out on a fishing trip. Especially since, as the saying goes, when the wind is from the West, then the fishes bite the best. The family takes a boat out on the lake, fishing and swimming and eventually camping out on a nearby island, taking full advantage of the gorgeous weather. But the next day . . . red sky in the morning, sailors take warning! The family ventures back home just in time to avoid a rainstorm. But not to worry — the more rain, the more rest. Fair weather’s not always best.

The FogThe Fog
By Kyo Maclear
Illustrated by Kenard Pak
48 Page | Ages 4-8 | Tundra Books
ISBN 9781770494923
Warble is a small yellow warbler who lives on the beautiful island of Icyland, where he pursues his hobby of human watching. But on a warm day, a deep fog rolls in and obscures his view. The rest of the birds don’t seem to notice the fog or the other changes Warble observes on the island. The more the fog is ignored, the more it spreads. When a Red-hooded Spectacled Female (Juvenile) appears, Warble discovers that he’s not the only one who notices the fog. Will they be able to find others who can see it too? And is the fog here to stay?

The Golden GlowThe Golden Glow
By Benjamin Flouw
48 Page | Ages 4-8 | Tundra Books
ISBN 9780735264120
Fox loves nature. There’s nothing he enjoys more than reading about and picking flowers. One evening, he comes across a rare specimen in his old botany book — the golden glow, a plant from the Wellhidden family, found only in the mountains . . . a plant that has yet to be described. Fascinated, Fox decides to set off on a quest in search of the mysterious golden glow. He packs his knapsack, a map, a compass, a flashlight, a sleeping bag and other items for his hike. Along the way, Fox observes many different kinds of trees and plants. He also encounters woodland friends who help him make it to the summit of the mountain. But when Fox eventually stumbles upon the object of his quest, he makes a surprising decision.

We also have a fun activity for kids to participate in. Click on the BINGO card image below to download and print. Throughout the summer, they can mark off everything they managed to do on the BINGO card. As for prizes when completing a row, column, or diagonal? We hear ice cream is pretty good. 🍦

READy2Camp-Bingo Card

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Penguin Teen Screen

We’re stoked to announce a new event series for this year called Penguin Teen Screen. What’s better than reading a YA book? Watching a classic teen movie, of course!

Launching this month, we’ve partnered with the Revue Cinema to bring you the perfect event: an interview with a YA author followed by a screening of a teen movie from the 80s or 90s. Our first author will be Gabrielle Moss (Paperback Crush) in conversation with Anne Thériault and our first movie will be She’s All That.

The inaugural Penguin Teen Screen event will take place on Thursday, June 20th at the Revue Cinema starting at 6:45pm. Come for the discussion of the history of YA books, stay for Rachael Leigh Cook’s iconic stairwell entrance scene (and sorry in advance for when you sing “Kiss Me” all the way home). Books will be available to purchase from our friends at Another Story. RSVP here.

UPCOMING PENGUIN TEEN SCREEN EVENTS:

July 18: Isabel Sterling (These Witches Don’t Burn) x The Craft
August 22: Arvin Ahmadi (Girl Gone Viral) x Hackers

Make sure you’re following us on social media for all the details about #PenguinTeenScreen and our other events!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/penguinteenca
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PenguinTeenCa/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/penguinteenca/

Window Wednesday

#WindowWednesday: We are incredibly fortunate to have stores create window features of our books. We want to highlight their amazing work here on our blog for you to see (and perhaps you’ll discover a new local bookstore).

Water Street Bookstore
125 Water St, Exeter, NH 03833, USA
Photography: Gina Perry

 

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Penguin Teen Social 2019 Recap

Yesterday we hosted our second #PenguinTeenSocial event – we invited bloggers and booksellers to our office for a fun night of trivia, pizza, and author signings. Check out some of our highlights below!

Welcome to Penguin Teen Social 2019!

Our author guests were: Tanaz Bhathena, Jeff Zentner, Heather Smith, Lesley Livingston, Lizzy Mason (who unfortunately couldn’t make it), and Laura Sebastian.

We used the Penguin Shop Cart as an author signing booth!

Swag bags including some Penguin Teen Canada sunglasses

Free ARCs!

#Penguin10 – the 10 books you NEED to read this fall!

Pizza generously donated by Panago Pizza. #RandomActsOfPizza

Marketing & Publicity Associate Director Vikki VanSickle introducing the evening’s schedule.

Our authors Jeff Zentner, Lesley Livingston, Heather Smith, Tanaz Bhathena,and Laura Sebastian playing a trivia game with our host/publicity manager, Evan Munday.

Signing line for Lesley Livingston.

Heather Smith and Tanaz Bhathena!

Signing line for Jeff Zentner.

So many book lovers in one room!

Your Penguin Teen Canada team: Sylvia Chan, Sam Devotta, Vikki VanSickle, and Evan Munday.

Thanks to everyone for a great night – hope to see you again next year!

Throwback Thursday: Anne’s Kindred Spirits in Charlottetown

A couple of weeks ago, Kallie George and Abigail Halpin had a successful event at Confederation Centre Public Library in support of their latest book, Anne’s Kindred Spirits. Thanks so much to our friends at The Bookmark for hosting it and to Michele Lawlor for the photos! Check out our slideshow for some of the event’s highlights!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anne’s Kindred Spirits
Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
By Kallie George
Illustrated by Abigail Halpin

Anne is nervous and excited to meet Diana, a neighbor girl who she just knows will be a kindred spirit. She’s even more excited when she learns that she’s invited to her very first picnic! Until Marilla’s precious brooch goes missing and it looks like it’s Anne’s fault. That is, Marilla is upset and Anne’s picnic adventure is now in jeopardy. Ultimately, the misunderstanding with the brooch is resolved and Anne is able to go to the picnic. Anne and Diana’s friendship blossoms and Anne’s bond with Matthew and Marilla grows stronger.

Lovingly adapted by Kallie George with beautiful nostalgic illustrations by Abigail Halpin, this series is perfect for fans of Anne, new and old.

Window Wednesday

#WindowWednesday: We are incredibly fortunate to have stores create window features of our books. We want to highlight their amazing work here on our blog for you to see (and perhaps you’ll discover a new local bookstore).

La Petite Librairie Drawn & Quarterly
176 Rue Bernard O, Montréal, QC H2T 2K2
Photography: Christina Vecchiato